Functions of Cerebral Lobes

Cerebrum is the largest part and constitute about 80% of the brain. It consists of  two cerebral hemispheres, which held together by a  curved thick band of nerve  fibres called corpus callosum. Three deep and wide fissure divide each cerebral hemisphere into four lobes. They are frontal lobe, parietal lobe, temporal lobe and occipital lobe.
cerebral hemisphere lobes
Lobes and Area
I. Frontal Lobe
Monitoring complex thoughts, actions, creative ideas, perceptions,memories, muscle movements, judgement, insight, reasoning, expression of emotions, decision making, personality, will power etc.
a. Motor area Controls voluntary movements of the muscles.
b. Premotor area The highest centre for involuntary movements of muscles and autonomic neural system.
c. Motor speech area (Broca’s area) Speech
II. Parietal lobe
Registration of sensory perception of touch, pain, heat and cold, knowledge about position in space etc.
a. Somaesthetic area Perceptions of general sensations like pain, touch, pressure and temperature etc.
b. Gustatory area Sense of taste.
c. Sensory speech area Speech
 III. Temporal lobe
Decoding and interpretation of sound, language comprehension, smell, memory etc.
a. Olfactory area Sense of smell
b. Auditory area Hearing
c. Wernicke’s area Understanding speech
IV. Occipital lobe
Decoding and interpretation of visual information, shape, colour etc.
a. Visual area Sensation of light.

Post a Comment

We love to hear from you! Leave us a comment.

Previous Post Next Post