Types of Differentiated cells Based on their Proliferation Capacity

Cell differentiation is the process by which genetically identical cells of an embryo become specialized or the process by which stable differences arise between cells of the embryo.

Types of differentiated cells
Differentiated cells can be categorized into three based on their proliferation and replacement capacity.

NERVE CELLSType I: Cardiac cells, muscle cells, nerve cells, once differentiated these cells are incapable of division and cannot be replaced upon injury or cell death.

skin cells
Type II: skin cells and liver cells, once differentiated enter G0 phase or resting phase of cell cycle and divide only upon injury or cell death. Mostly these cells have short life span and must be replaced by continuous division.


Type III: Blood cells once differentiated are incapable of division and undergo cell death. But these cells are replaced by the proliferation of less differentiated cells called stem cells.

Post a Comment

We love to hear from you! Leave us a comment.

Previous Post Next Post