Classification of Living Things: 5 Vertebrate Groups

The animal kingdom includes vertebrates and arthropods. Vertebrates are animals with backbones, i.e., they have a vertebral column. The subphylum  vertebrata comprises the major part of phylum chordata which includes mammals, reptiles, fishes, amphibians, birds.

BE4U tips: MR FAB (Mammals, Reptiles, Fishes, Amphibians, Birds)

  •        Hair
  •         Four chambered heart
  •         Placenta,
  •         Mammary gland
  •         Different types of teeth
  •         Presence of epidermal scales, which are modified in some to form shields or plates
  •         Lay soft shelled eggs on land
Fish (Pisces):
  •        Streamlined body
  •        Presence of scales
  •        Paired fins
  •        Lay eggs with no shells in water
  •         Presence of smooth skin
  •         Heart is three chambered
  •         Lay eggs with no shells in water
Birds (Aves):
  •        Presence of feathers, wings, beak
  •        4 chambered heart
  •        Lay eggs with hard shells

Post a Comment

We love to hear from you! Leave us a comment.

Previous Post Next Post