IGCSE Biology Notes on Five Kingdom Characteristics

Five kingdom Classification proposed by R. H. Whittaker in 1969. The five kingdom are 

Kingdom Prokaryotes (Kingdom Monera): The Kingdom Of Prokaryotes
Monera  includes bacteria, cyanobacteria, mycoplasma and actinomycetes.

Kingdom Protists (Kingdom Protozoa) :The Kingdom Of Unicellular Eukaryotes)
Protists includes diatoms, euglenoids, dinoflagellates, slime moulds and protozoans.

Kingdom Fungi: The Kingdom Of Multicellular Decomposers
Fungi   includes multicellular or multinucleated achlorophyllous spore producing eukaryotic organisms like Pencilium, Rhizopus, mildews, mushrooms, rusts, morels, puff balls, bracket fungi etc.

Kingdom Plants (Kingdom Plantae) : The Kingdom Of Multicellular Producers
Plantae includes photosynthetic multicellular organisms i.e., algae, bryophytes, pteridophytes, gymnosperms and angiosperms.

Kingdom Animals (Kindom Animalia) :The Kingdom Of Multicellular Consumers
The main group represented in the animal kingdom are sponges, coelenterates, annelids, arthropods, molluscs, mammals, reptiles, fishes, amphibians and birds. 

Post a Comment

We love to hear from you! Leave us a comment.

Previous Post Next Post